The Tri-agency Institutional Programs Secretariat (TIPS), housed within the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council, is responsible for the day-to-day administration of the Canada First Research Excellence Fund (the Fund).

The Fund’s steering committee is responsible for providing strategic direction for the program, and is the body that approves funding recommendations made by the selection board.

Steering committee

Ted Hewitt (Chair)
President, SSHRC

President, NSERC

John Knubley
Deputy Minister, Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada

Michael Strong
President, CIHR

Roseann O’Reilly Runte
President and CEO, CFI

Simon Kennedy
Deputy Minister, Health Canada