About us


The Government of Canada’s Economic Action Plan 2014 announced the creation of the Canada First Research Excellence Fund (CFREF). CFREF invests approximately $200 million per year to support Canada’s postsecondary institutions in their efforts to become global research leaders.

It helps Canadian universities, colleges and polytechnics compete with the best in the world for talent and partnership opportunities, to make breakthrough discoveries, and to excel globally in research areas that will create long-term economic advantages for Canada.

CFREF helps institutions:

  • compete with the best in the world for talent, for partnership opportunities, and to make breakthrough discoveries;
  • seize emerging opportunities and strategically advance their greatest strengths on the global stage; and
  • implement large-scale, transformational and forward-thinking institutional strategies.

The two inaugural CFREF competitions were held in 2015 and 2016.

A tri-agency initiative

CFREF is a tri-agency initiative of the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC), the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council and the Canadian Institutes of Health Research. It is administered by the Tri-agency Institutional Programs Secretariat, which is housed within SSHRC.

tri agency logos

À notre sujet


Le Plan d’action économique de 2014 du gouvernement du Canada a annoncé la création du Fonds d’excellence en recherche Apogée Canada (ci-après appelé le « Fonds »). Le Fonds investit approximativement 200 millions de dollars par année pour soutenir les efforts des établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire canadiens pour devenir des chefs de file mondiaux dans le domaine de la recherche.

Le Fonds aide les universités, les collèges et les polytechniques du Canada à se mesurer aux meilleurs au monde en termes de talent et d’occasions de partenariat, à réaliser des percées scientifiques et à exceller à l’échelle mondiale dans les domaines de la recherche susceptibles de créer des avantages économiques à long terme pour le pays.

Le Fonds :

  • aide les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire canadiens à se mesurer aux meilleurs dans le monde en ce qui a trait au talent et aux occasions de partenariat ainsi qu’à réaliser des percées scientifiques;
  • aide les établissements à saisir toute nouvelle occasion et, de manière stratégique, faire progresser leurs plus grandes forces sur la scène mondiale;
  • aide à mettre en œuvre, à grande échelle, des stratégies institutionnelles avant-gardistes et transformationnelles.

Les deux premiers concours du Fonds sont tenus en 2015 et en 2016.

Une initiative interorganismes

Le Fonds est une initiative conjointe du Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines (CRSH), du Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie, et des Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada. Il est administré par le Secrétariat des programmes interorganismes à l’intention des établissements qui partage les locaux du CRSH.

tri agency logos