Inaugural competitions in 2015 and 2016


In December 2014, the Government of Canada launched the first two competitions of the Canada First Research Excellence Fund (the Fund).

Inaugural competition 1
Inaugural competition 2
Subsequent competitions


Inaugural Competition 1—CLOSED

To respond to the needs of those eligible Canadian postsecondary institutions that already have detailed plans in place that meet the ambitious objectives of the Fund, and that have requested an accelerated application and adjudication process, the first of the inaugural competitions will be held according to a fast timeline, as follows:

Notice of intent deadline: February 2, 2015

Notices of intent are used for administrative purposes only, allowing the program’s administration to anticipate the volume of applications and the disciplines covered.

Application deadline: March 2, 2015

Funding to be awarded: Up to $350 million

Selection criteria and adjudication process: The Fund’s selection criteria, review process and other program details are the same for both inaugural competitions, and are available under Application process.

Results announced: July 2015

Payment of grant funds to successful institutions would begin during the 2015-16 fiscal year, following the Treasury Board’s approval of funding.

Inaugural Competition 2

For the two inaugural competitions, applicants who were unsuccessful in Competition 1 can submit a proposal addressing the same thematic area in Competition 2 or submit a proposal in a different thematic area. Applicants who were successful in Competition 1 can apply to Competition 2 to advance a different thematic area but their proposal must demonstrate that they have the capacity and the resources to successfully carry through a second ambitious institutional initiative of the scale and scope that is expected of a Fund grant.

The inaugural Competition 2 will be held according to the following timeline:

Letter of intent deadline: November 9, 2015

Letter of intent results announced: January 2016 (a list of institutions invited to submit a full proposal will be posted on the Fund website)

Full proposal deadline: March 29, 2016

Funding to be awarded: Up to $900 million

Eligibility and selection criteria: Eligibility for the Fund and its selection criteria are the same for both inaugural competitions and are available under Application process.

Adjudication process: Competition 2 will have a two-stage review process, starting with an adjudicated letter of intent (LOI) stage. This will minimize the burden on institutions with respect to preparing full proposals, and the burden on peer reviewers and adjudication committees. The eligibility and selection criteria remain the same as they were in inaugural Competition 1. Adjudication will involve peer review. The LOI will outline all of the information required to assess the institution’s existing scientific capacity (part of criterion 1) and the alignment of the proposed research thematic area with the federal science, technology and innovation priority research areas (part of criterion 2). The selection will focus on whether applicants meet the threshold and standard for consideration under the Fund, i.e., do LOIs appropriately respond to the Fund’s intended goals and ambition, based on these two key elements of the selection criteria? Additional information on the full proposal stage and the adjudication process is available under Application process.

Results announced: Summer 2016

Payment of grant funds to successful institutions would begin during fiscal year 2016-17, following the Treasury Board’s approval and parliamentary appropriation of the funds. September 1, 2016, is the earliest start date that can be presented in applications for proposed initiatives. Consequently, expenses incurred as of September 1, 2016, will be eligible under the grant.

Subsequent competitions

The third Fund competition is expected to be launched in 2021-22. All eligible Canadian postsecondary institutions, including those successful in either of the two inaugural competitions, will be entitled to apply.

Concours inauguraux de 2015 et 2016


En décembre 2014, le gouvernement du Canada a lancé les deux premiers concours du Fonds d’excellence en recherche Apogée Canada (le Fonds).

Premier concours
Deuxième concours
Concours futurs



Premier concours – TERMINÉ

En réponse aux demandes d’établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire canadiens admissibles qui possédaient déjà des plans détaillés satisfaisant aux objectifs ambitieux du Fonds et qui souhaitaient participer à un processus accéléré de présentation des demandes et de sélection, le premier concours a eu lieu dans un délai serré, selon le calendrier qui suit.

Date limite pour soumettre l’avis d’intention : le 2 février 2015

Les avis d’intention sont utilisés uniquement à des fins administratives et permettent aux gestionnaires du Fonds de prévoir le nombre de demandes de subvention ainsi que les disciplines visées.

Date limite pour présenter la demande : le 2 mars 2015

Fonds à attribuer : jusqu’à 350 millions de dollars

Critères de sélection et processus d’évaluation : les critères de sélection, le processus d’évaluation et les autres modalités du programme sont les mêmes pour les deux concours inauguraux (voir la page Présentation de la demande).

Annonce des résultats : juillet 2015

Le versement des fonds de la subvention aux établissements retenus doit débuter au cours de l’exercice 2015-2016, à la suite de l’approbation du financement par le Conseil du Trésor.

Deuxième concours

En ce qui concerne les deux premiers concours, un candidat dont la demande n’a pas été retenue dans le cadre du premier concours peut présenter une demande portant soit sur le même domaine thématique, soit sur un tout autre domaine thématique, aux fins du deuxième concours. Un candidat dont la demande a été retenue dans le cadre du premier concours peut présenter une demande aux fins du deuxième concours en vue de faire progresser un autre domaine de recherche, mais il doit démontrer, dans sa demande, qu’il a la capacité et les ressources nécessaires pour mener à bien une deuxième initiative institutionnelle ambitieuse ayant l’échelle et la portée attendues des initiatives subventionnées par le Fonds.

Voici l’échéancier du deuxième concours.

Date limite pour soumettre la lettre d’intention : le 9 novembre 2015

Annonce des résultats de la lettre d’intention : janvier 2016 (la liste des établissements invités à présenter une demande sera affichée sur le site Web du Fonds)

Date limite pour présenter la demande : le 29 mars 2016

Fonds à attribuer : jusqu’à 900 millions de dollars

Admissibilité et critères de sélection : l’admissibilité et les critères de sélection sont les mêmes pour les deux concours inauguraux (voir la page Présentation de la demande).

Processus d’évaluation : le processus d’évaluation du deuxième concours comporte deux étapes, la première consistant en la présentation d’une lettre d’intention. Cette formule permet d’alléger le plus possible le fardeau des établissements pour ce qui est de la préparation de la demande et celui des pairs experts et des comités d’évaluation, puisque seuls les établissements retenus à cette étape pourront présenter une demande. L’admissibilité et les critères de sélection sont les mêmes que pour le premier concours. Les lettres d’intention sont évaluées par des pairs. Elles doivent présenter de l’information permettant d’évaluer la capacité scientifique actuelle de l’établissement (partie du critère 1) et la conformité du ou des domaines thématiques de recherche proposés avec les domaines de recherche prioritaires du gouvernement fédéral en matière de sciences, de technologie et d’innovation (partie du critère 2). La sélection aura pour objectif de déterminer si les candidats atteignent le seuil et respectent les normes nécessaires pour être pris en compte dans le cadre du Fonds – autrement dit, selon ces deux éléments clés des critères de sélection, les lettres d’intention tiennent-elles compte de manière appropriée des objectifs et des ambitions du Fonds? On peut obtenir plus de précisions au sujet de l’étape de la demande et du processus d’évaluation à la page Présentation de la demande.

Annonce des résultats : été 2016

Le versement des fonds de la subvention aux établissements retenus doit débuter au cours de l’exercice 2016-2017, à la suite de l’approbation du financement par le Conseil du Trésor et de l’obtention des crédits parlementaires. Les initiatives proposées dans les demandes peuvent débuter au plus tôt le 1er septembre 2016. Par conséquent, seules les dépenses engagées à compter du 1er septembre 2016 seront admissibles en vertu de la subvention.

Concours futurs

Le troisième concours devrait être lancé en 2021-2022. Tous les établissements d’enseignement postsecondaire canadiens admissibles, y compris ceux retenus dans le cadre de l’un ou l’autre des deux concours inauguraux, pourront y participer.