Competition Results


Inaugural Competition 2 Results

A total of 51 institutions submitted a Letter of Intent (LOI) to the Fund in Inaugural Competition 2. Of these, 30 were invited to submit a full proposal. Ultimately, 29 proposals were submitted, representing a total Fund request of $2.38 billion.

The proposals underwent a multilevel peer review process that included an evaluation of scientific merit and strategic relevance by external experts, and merit assessment by expert review panels, based on three selection criteria. Each proposal was assigned to one of four review panels composed of leading Canadian and international experts.

Subsequently, proposals underwent a strategic review by the selection board, which is composed of distinguished Canadian and international leaders. The board focused on each proposal’s strategic relevance to Canada, and the quality of the institution’s implementation plan.

Following a first round of selection, the Fund’s steering committee approved the selection of 15 institutions that were invited to the final selection round. This involved face-to-face interviews with the selection board and a due diligence review of budget requests by a third-party firm.

The Fund’s steering committee approved the final selection of the following 13 Inaugural Competition 2 applications:





Dalhousie University

Award amount: $93,732,000

Title: Safe and Sustainable Development of the Ocean Frontier

Canada’s reliance on ocean resources is escalating during a period when the ocean is changing rapidly. World-leading experts from Dalhousie University, the Memorial University of Newfoundland and the University of Prince Edward Island have developed a research program to address this challenge with an integrated set of research modules focused on: atmosphere-ocean interactions, shifting ecosystems, sustainable fisheries, sustainable aquaculture, marine safety, and ocean data capture and integrated information technology tools.

Abstract




Laurentian University

Award amount: $49,269,000

Title: Metal Earth

Metal Earth will transform our understanding of metal endowment during Earth’s evolution; make Canada a world leader and innovator, through the open-source delivery of new knowledge, new quantitative exploration guidelines and new technology; and contribute to the expansion of Canada’s mineral wealth through new discoveries.

Abstract




McGill University

Award amount: $84,000,000

Title: Healthy Brains for Healthy Lives

The central vision of the Healthy Brains for Healthy Lives initiative is to create a global centre for excellence, establish a hub for neuroinformatics and big data analysis, and accelerate translational discoveries that will improve brain health in Canada and around the world. The core of this effort will be the creation of a novel, advanced analytic platform for brain research—NeuroHub—which will lead to the development of new models to elucidate normal brain development, enhance classification of neurological and mental disorders, and better understand clinical outcomes for individuals.

Abstract




Polytechnique Montréal

Award amount: $35,625,000

Title: The Montreal TransMedTech (MT2) Institute: An open-innovation ecosystem for the development of next generation medical technologies

The Montreal TransMedTech Institute initiative seeks to shape the future of diagnosis/prognosis, intervention, and medical technologies for complex diseases across all age groups. The objective is to accelerate the availability of new medical technologies or interventions, and their potential adoption by end-users.

Abstract




Queen's University

Award amount: $63,744,000

Title: Canadian Particle Astrophysics Research Centre

Particle astrophysics is the study of the fundamental properties of the building blocks of nature, and their influence on the evolution of structure in the universe. The questions being addressed are considered, worldwide, to be among the most important in physics today. The Canada First Research Excellence Fund offers an opportunity to enable Canadian scientists to continue their pre-eminence in this field.

Abstract




Université de Montréal

Award amount: $93,562,000

Title: Data Serving Canadians: Deep Learning and Optimization for the Knowledge Revolution

Campus Montréal is proposing a transformative and far-reaching strategy that capitalizes on the unique and synergistic combination of machine learning / deep learning and operations research—the science of optimization. The strategy, which lies at the core of data-driven innovation, will pave the way to major scientific breakthroughs, allowing useful information to be efficiently extracted from massive data sets (machine learning) and turned into actionable decisions (operations).

Abstract




University of Alberta

Award amount: $75,000,000

Title: Future Energy Systems Research Institute

The University of Alberta proposes to establish the Future Energy Systems Research Institute (FESRI) to develop a path to the responsible development and use of Canada’s multi-trillion-dollar energy resources, while facilitating a smooth transition to a lower-carbon energy economy. FESRI will build a new energy future for Canada, propelling our country to world leadership in energy technology development and use.

Abstract




University of Calgary

Award amount: $75,000,000

Title: Global Research Initiative in Sustainable Low Carbon Unconventional Resources

The University of Calgary’s scientific strategy could significantly reduce the carbon footprint of unconventional resource development. The University of Calgary’s strategy tackles the core features that make extraction of these resources so carbon-intensive—namely, the high viscosity of heavy oil and bitumen, and the extremely low permeability of tight oil and gas reservoirs.

Abstract




University of Guelph

Award amount: $76,613,000

Title: Food from Thought: Agricultural Systems for a Healthy Planet

The grand challenge is to develop systems that are capable of meeting the rising human demand for food while being resilient to climate change, and able to sustain healthy ecosystems, economies, and populations. Food from Thought would allow the University of Guelph to become the global leader in this field.

Abstract




University of Saskatchewan

Award amount: $77,840,000

Title: Global Water Futures: Solutions to Water Threats in an Era of Global Change

By developing new, transdisciplinary science; new environmental monitoring systems and predictive modeling tools; and novel, user-focused approaches to putting new knowledge into action, Global Water Futures could become an international provider of urgently needed risk management technologies, decision-making tools, and other evidence-based solutions to complex water challenges.

Abstract




University of Waterloo

Award amount: $76,277,000

Title:Transformative Quantum Technologies

Transformative Quantum Technologies will tackle three grand challenges in quantum device development: demonstrate a quantum computer that is beyond the ability for a classical processor to simulate; develop quantum sensors with applications in navigation, materials, biochemistry, medicine and other fields; and deploy useful, long-distance quantum communication / key distribution.

Abstract




Western University

Award amount: $66,000,000

Title: BrainsCAN: Brain Health for Life

Researchers at Western University, along with their national and international academic and commercial partners, will deliver evidence-based assessments and interventions for the diagnosis and treatment of disorders of the brain. In partnership with the Canada First Research Excellence Fund, the BrainsCAN initiative will accelerate the university’s ability to deliver effective solutions to the grand challenge of maintaining brain function across the lifespan.

Abstract




York University

Award amount: $33,338,000

Title: Vision: Science to Applications (VISTA)

Blending psychophysical, physiological and computational approaches, VISTA will create a novel, interdisciplinary paradigm in visual neuroscience and computer vision. VISTA will propel Canada’s global leadership in vision research, which would translate into long-term economic benefits for Canada in four top-priority industry sectors: health and aging, robotics, 3D film and digital media, and surveillance and transportation.

Abstract




Letters of Intent

Each LOI underwent a multilevel review process. This process included an evaluation of the proposed initiative's scientific merit and strategic relevance, as determined by expert review panel and the selection board, and based on two selection criteria.

The selection criteria focused on the existing strengths and capacity, as well as the current global position, of the institution in its proposed area(s) of focus, as well as the alignment of the proposed initiative with the Government of Canada’s science, technology and innovation priority research areas.

The Fund’s steering committee approved the selection of 30 institutions that were invited to submit a full proposal by March 29, 2016. Collectively, these 30 LOI proposals represented a total Fund request of close to $2.4 billion.


Previous competition results

Résultats des concours


Résultats du deuxième concours

En tout, 51 établissements ont présenté une lettre d’intention au Fonds pour le deuxième concours. Parmi ceux-ci, 30 ont été invités à soumettre une proposition complète. Au final, 29 propositions ont été soumises, qui représentaient une somme de 2,38 milliards de dollars.

Les propositions ont fait l’objet d’un processus d'évaluation par les pairs à plusieurs niveaux, qui comprenait une évaluation du mérite scientifique et de la pertinence stratégique et qui a été menée par des experts externes. Les propositions ont également été soumises à une évaluation du mérite menée par des comités interdisciplinaires d’évaluation en fonction de trois critères de sélection. Chaque proposition a été attribuée à un des quatre comités interdisciplinaires d’évaluation, qui étaient composés de chefs de file canadiens et internationaux.

Par la suite, les propositions ont fait l’objet d’un examen stratégique par le comité de sélection, qui était composé de Canadiens de renom et de chefs de file internationaux. Le comité s’est concentré sur la pertinence stratégique de chaque proposition pour le Canada et sur la qualité du plan de mise en œuvre des établissements.

Dans un premier temps, le comité directeur du Fonds a approuvé la sélection de quinze établissements, qui ont été invités à la phase finale de sélection, laquelle comprenait des entretiens en personne avec le comité de sélection et la vérification préalable des demandes budgétaires, menée par une tierce partie.

Le comité directeur du Fonds a approuvé la sélection finale des 13 propositions du deuxième concours, que voici.





Dalhousie University

Subvention attribuée : 93 732 000 $

Titre : Développement sûr et durable des océans

C’est au moment même où les océans se transforment rapidement que la dépendance du Canada à l’égard de leurs ressources augmente. Des experts mondiaux de la Dalhousie University, de la Memorial University of Newfoundland et de l’University of Prince Edward Island ont élaboré un programme de recherche visant à relever ce défi au moyen d’un ensemble intégré de modules portant sur les aspects suivants : les interactions entre l’atmosphère et l’océan, les changements au sein des écosystèmes, les pêches durables, l’aquaculture durable, la sécurité maritime et les outils de technologie de l’information intégrés et de collecte de données sur les océans.

Résumé




Polytechnique Montréal

Subvention attribuée : 35 625 000 $

Titre : L’Institut TransMedTech : écosystème d’innovation ouvert pour la conception de la prochaine génération de technologies médicales

L’Institut TransMedTech de Montréal vise la conception de la prochaine génération de technologies de diagnostic, de pronostic, d’intervention et autres technologies médicales qui permettront de s’attaquer à des maladies complexes touchant tous les groupes d’âge. L’objectif est de rendre les nouvelles technologies et interventions médicales disponibles plus rapidement et de hâter leur adoption par les utilisateurs.

Résumé




Queen's University

Subvention attribuée : 63 744 000 $

Titre : Centre de recherches en astrophysique des particules du Canada

L’astrophysique des particules est l’étude des propriétés fondamentales des éléments constitutifs de la nature et de leur influence sur l’évolution de la structure de l’univers. Les questions abordées sont considérées comme faisant partie des questions de physique les plus importantes à l’heure actuelle dans le monde. Le Fonds d’excellence en recherche Apogée Canada entend permettre aux scientifiques canadiens de maintenir leur supériorité dans ce domaine.

Résumé




Université de Montréal

Subvention attribuée : 93 562 000 $

Titre : Données au service des Canadiens : apprentissage profond et optimisation aux fins de la révolution du savoir

Campus Montréal propose une stratégie transformatrice et ambitieuse qui mise sur la combinaison unique en son genre et synergique de l’apprentissage machine/apprentissage profond et de la recherche opérationnelle – la science de l’optimisation. Cette stratégie, qui est au cœur même de l’innovation pilotée par les données, ouvrira la voie à des percées scientifiques importantes en permettant l’extraction efficace de renseignements utiles à partir d’ensembles de données volumineux (apprentissage machine) et leur transformation en décisions exécutables (opérations).

Résumé




Université Laurentienne

Subvention attribuée : 49 269 000 $

Titre : Terre de métaux

L’initiative Terre de métaux transformera notre compréhension de la formation des ressources en métaux tout au long de l’évolution de la Terre. Elle fera du Canada un innovateur et un chef de file mondial grâce à la présentation en code source ouvert de nouvelles connaissances, de nouvelles lignes directrices quantitatives en matière d’exploration et de nouvelles technologies. Elle contribuera également à l’expansion des ressources minérales du Canada grâce à de nouvelles découvertes.

Résumé




Université McGill

Subvention attribuée : 84 000 000 $

Titre : Cerveau en santé, gage d’une vie en santé

La création d’un centre d’excellence mondial, l’établissement d’un carrefour pour la neuroinformatique et l’analyse de données volumineuses ainsi que l’intensification de découvertes translationnelles susceptibles d’améliorer la santé du cerveau au Canada et partout dans le monde sont au cœur même de l’initiative Cerveau en santé, gage d’une vie en santé. Cette initiative repose sur la création d’une nouvelle plateforme d’analyse évoluée pour la recherche sur le cerveau – NeuroHub – qui permettra d’élaborer de nouveaux modèles afin de mieux cerner le développement normal du cerveau, d’améliorer la classification des troubles mentaux et neurologiques et de mieux comprendre les résultats cliniques des sujets.

Résumé




Université York

Subvention attribuée : 33 338 000 $

Titre : Vision : de la science aux applications

En amalgamant ainsi des démarches d’ordre psychophysique, physiologique et informatique, l’initiative Vision : de la science aux applications pourra entraîner la création d’un paradigme interdisciplinaire inédit en neurosciences visuelles et en vision par ordinateur. L’initiative propulsera le Canada au rang de chef de file mondial en matière de recherche sur la vision, ce qui donnera lieu à des avantages économiques à long terme pour le pays, et ce, dans quatre secteurs industriels prioritaires : la santé et le vieillissement, la robotique, les films 3D et les médias numériques, ainsi que la surveillance et le transport.

Résumé




University of Alberta

Subvention attribuée : 75 000 000 $

Titre : Institut de recherche sur les filières énergétiques de l’avenir

L’University of Alberta propose la création de l’Institut de recherche sur les filières énergétiques de l’avenir, afin d’ouvrir la voie à l’exploitation et à l’utilisation responsables des ressources énergétiques du Canada, dont la valeur atteint plusieurs milliers de milliards de dollars, tout en permettant une transition sans heurts à une économie à faibles émissions de carbone. Il préparera un nouvel avenir énergétique pour le Canada, propulsant ainsi le pays parmi les chefs de file en matière de mise au point et d’utilisation de technologies énergétiques.

Résumé




University of Calgary

Subvention attribuée : 75 000 000 $

Titre : Initiative de recherche mondiale sur les ressources non classiques durables à faibles émissions de carbone

La stratégie scientifique de l’University of Calgary pourrait réduire considérablement l’empreinte carbone de l’exploitation de ressources non classiques. La stratégie de l’University of Calgary s’attaque aux principales caractéristiques responsables des émissions élevées de carbone résultant de l’extraction de ces ressources, notamment la très grande viscosité du pétrole lourd et du bitume et la très faible perméabilité des réservoirs de pétrole et de gaz étanches.

Résumé




University of Guelph

Subvention attribuée : 76 613 000 $

Titre : Alimentation réfléchie : systèmes d’exploitation agricole pour une planète en santé

L’enjeu est de taille, puisqu’il faut mettre au point des systèmes pouvant satisfaire à la demande grandissante de nourriture pour les êtres humains, capables de résilience face aux changements climatiques et aptes à soutenir des écosystèmes équilibrés, des économies viables et des populations en santé. L’initiative Alimentation réfléchie peut positionner l’University of Guelph en tant que chef de file mondial dans ce domaine.

Résumé




University of Saskatchewan

Subvention attribuée : 77 840 000 $

Titre : L’avenir de l’eau dans le monde : solutions visant à contrer les dangers liés à l’eau dans une période de changements planétaires

En élaborant une nouvelle science transdisciplinaire, de nouveaux systèmes de surveillance de l’environnement et outils de modélisation prévisionnelle, ainsi que des méthodes novatrices axées sur les utilisateurs pour appliquer les nouvelles connaissances, l’initiative pourra devenir un fournisseur mondial de produits indispensables, notamment de technologies de gestion des risques, d’outils d’aide à la prise de décisions et d’autres solutions fondées sur des données probantes pour résoudre des problèmes complexes liés à l’eau.

Résumé




University of Waterloo

Subvention attribuée : 76 277 000 $

Titre : Technologies quantiques transformatrices

L’initiative Technologies quantiques transformatrices permet de s’attaquer à trois des grands défis que pose la mise au point de dispositifs quantiques : faire la démonstration d’un ordinateur quantique dont la capacité de simuler dépasse de beaucoup celle des processeurs classiques; mettre au point des capteurs quantiques ayant des applications, entre autres, dans les domaines de la navigation, des matériaux, de la biochimie et de la médecine; mettre en place un système utile de communication quantique longue distance et de distribution de clés.

Résumé




Western University

Subvention attribuée : 66 000 000 $

Titre : Initiative BrainsCAN : un cerveau en santé toute la vie durant

Les chercheurs de la Western University et leurs partenaires universitaires et commerciaux au pays et à l’étranger procéderont à des évaluations et à des interventions fondées sur des données probantes pour le diagnostic et le traitement de troubles du cerveau. Menée en partenariat avec le Fonds d’excellence en recherche Apogée Canada, l’initiative BrainsCAN permettra à l’université d’offrir rapidement des solutions efficaces pour relever le grand défi que présente le maintien des fonctions cérébrales toute la vie durant.

Résumé




Lettres d’intention

Chaque lettre d’intention a fait l’objet d’un processus d'évaluation à plusieurs niveaux, qui comprenait une évaluation du mérite scientifique et de la pertinence stratégique des initiatives proposées et qui a été menée par un comité d’experts et le comité de sélection en fonction de deux critères de sélection.

Ces critères de sélection sont axés sur les forces et les capacités de l’initiative proposée, la situation actuelle de l’établissement pour ce qui est du domaine de recherche proposé ainsi que la conformité de l’initiative proposée avec les domaines de recherche prioritaires du gouvernement du Canada en matière de sciences, de technologie et d’innovation.

Le comité directeur du Fonds a approuvé la sélection des 30 établissements qui ont été invités à soumettre une proposition complète avant le 29 mars 2016. Ces 30 propositions représentaient en tout une somme de près de 2,4 milliards de dollars.


Résultats du concours précédent