Queen’s University


Canadian Particle Astrophysics Research Centre

Particle astrophysics is the study of the fundamental properties of the building blocks of nature, and their influence on the evolution of structure in the universe. The questions being addressed are considered, worldwide, to be among the most important in physics today.

Led by many of the scientists who developed the Sudbury Neutrino Observatory (SNO), Canada has become a world leader in this field. With the expansion of SNO to form SNOLAB, Canada now operates the premier laboratory of this kind in the world.

In recent years, research intensity in this field has increased dramatically. Canada is currently in an enviable position, with world-leading facilities and research programs that received the highest possible accolades; and sharing the 2015 Nobel and 2016 Breakthrough prizes, among others. The Canada First Research Excellence Fund offers an opportunity to enable Canadian scientists to continue their pre-eminence in this field. To ensure the highest level of international excellence, the Canadian Particle Astrophysics Research Centre will:

  1. expand on the scientific culture at Queen’s University and partner institutions (universities: University of Alberta, The University of British Columbia, Carleton University, Laurentian University, McGill University, Université de Montréal and University of Toronto; and institutes: Canadian Institute for Advanced Research, Institute of Particle Physics, Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics, SNOLAB and TRIUMF) by building a powerful team working on all aspects of particle astrophysics, including the SNOLAB experimental program, astroparticle theory, related observational astrophysics, cosmology, and the development of new detectors and technologies that actively involve industrial partners and facilitate innovation-transfer through technology-transfer offices;
  2. extract maximum scientific output from the current suite of SNOLAB experiments, by strengthening the scientific resources at Canadian universities and engaging the broader community in the undertaking;
  3. create a research team with the ability to lead global-scale, next generation experiments and attract international collaboration; and
  4. embed students at all stages of their careers in this scientific culture, developing skills and creating training opportunities through linkages to colleges, industries and international programs.

Queen’s University


Centre de recherches en astrophysique des particules du Canada

L’astrophysique des particules est l’étude des propriétés fondamentales des éléments constitutifs de la nature et de leur influence sur l’évolution de la structure de l’univers. Les questions abordées sont considérées comme faisant partie des questions de physique les plus importantes à l’heure actuelle dans le monde.

Le Canada est devenu un chef de file mondial dans ce domaine grâce à bon nombre des scientifiques qui ont conçu l’Observatoire de neutrinos de Sudbury (Sudbury Neutrino Observatory ou SNO). L’expansion de cet observatoire a donné lieu à la création du SNOLAB, le premier laboratoire du genre dans le monde.

Ces dernières années, on a assisté à une intensification spectaculaire des recherches dans ce domaine. Le Canada occupe actuellement une position enviable puisqu’il compte des établissements et des programmes de recherche de calibre mondial et des scientifiques qui ont été colauréats des distinctions les plus importantes, notamment du prix Nobel 2015 et du prix Breakthrough de physique fondamentale de 2016. Le Fonds d’excellence en recherche Apogée Canada entend permettre aux scientifiques canadiens de maintenir leur supériorité dans ce domaine. Afin d’atteindre le plus haut niveau d’excellence internationale, le Centre de recherches en astrophysique des particules du Canada :

  1. favorisera l’épanouissement de la culture scientifique à l’Université Queen’s et dans les établissements partenaires (universités : University of Alberta, University of British Columbia, Carleton University, Université Laurentienne, Université McGill, Université de Montréal et University of Toronto; instituts : Institut canadien de recherches avancées, Institut de physique des particules, Perimeter Institute for Theoretical Physics, laboratoire SNOLAB et laboratoire TRIUMF) en constituant une équipe solide qui se penchera sur tous les aspects de l’astrophysique des particules, notamment le programme expérimental du SNOLAB, la théorie des astroparticules, l’astrophysique d’observation connexe, la cosmologie et la mise au point de nouveaux détecteurs et de nouvelles technologies qui mettront à contribution les partenaires de l’industrie et faciliteront le transfert des innovations par l’entremise de bureaux de transfert de la technologie;
  2. obtiendra le maximum d’extrants scientifiques de l’ensemble d’expériences menées actuellement au SNOLAB en renforçant les ressources scientifiques dans les universités canadiennes et en faisant en sorte que la collectivité dans son ensemble y participe;
  3. créera une équipe de recherche ayant la capacité de mener des expériences de prochaine génération à l’échelle mondiale et d’attirer des collaborations internationales;
  4. intégrera à cette culture scientifique des étudiants qui en sont à différentes étapes de leur carrière, leur donnant l’occasion de perfectionner leurs compétences et créant des possibilités de formation au moyen d’associations avec des collèges, des industries et des programmes internationaux.